Compare
Zuyu vs Pep: Comparing Two GLP-1 Trackers That Both Start Without an Account
Updated 22 September 2026.
Most comparisons in this category pit a privacy-minded app against a data-hungry one. This one is harder, and more interesting, because Pep and Zuyu agree about the thing most of the category disagrees on: neither one makes you create an account to start tracking. Pep stores your records on the device by default and asks for a sign-in only if you want cloud backup. Zuyu never asks at all.
So the decision is not privacy-versus-convenience. It is a narrower question about how much app you want, what you are prepared to have leave the phone, and what each company is prepared to publish about itself.
Comparing more than two? See the full GLP-1 tracker app comparison.
Side by side
| Zuyu | Pep | |
|---|---|---|
| Account to start tracking | Never required | Not required; optional for cloud backup |
| Default storage | On the device, encrypted; not transmitted | On the device |
| Optional cloud | None offered | Cloud backup and multi-device sync, on Supabase/AWS in the US |
| Tracking declared to Apple | None | Identifiers, and device ID for the developer's advertising |
| Health categories in Apple privacy label | None | None declared |
| Injections and oral doses | Injections; oral not stated | Both |
| Injection-site rotation | Yes, free tier, with a body-map view | Yes |
| Side effects | Yes | Yes |
| Weight and body measurements | Weight only | Weight, body measurements and progress photos |
| Food and nutrition logging | Not offered | Yes, searchable database, barcode, plus AI photo scanning in the paid tier |
| Medication-level / dosing-rhythm chart | Yes, an estimated medication-presence chart, shown in the app | Yes, stated to be in the free tier |
| Apple Health / Health Connect | Not offered | Yes, both |
| Clinician PDF report | Yes, in Plus | Not stated |
| Raw data export | Free on every plan | Not stated |
| Voice check-ins | Yes, processed on-device | Not stated |
| Supply recording | Yes, free; projection in Plus | Not stated |
| Platforms | iPhone, Android | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Languages | English | English plus nine |
| App size (iPhone) | 33.7 MB | about 55 MB |
| Published price | $9.99/mo, $59.99/yr | Not published; store shows several options, $9.99–$39.99 |
| Clinician report / PDF export | Yes (Plus) | Not verified |
Where Pep is the stronger app
The free tier is remarkable, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. Pep's own comparison materials state that its estimated medication-level chart and its Apple Health sync sit in the free tier, features that several competitors charge for. If you want a lot of capability without paying anyone, Pep is the most serious answer in this category.
Far more features per app. Body measurements, progress photos, a searchable food database with barcode scanning, customizable reminders across injections, pills, weigh-ins, hydration and meals. Zuyu does not do any of the food or measurement work.
Broader reach. iPhone, iPad and Android, in ten languages. Zuyu is iPhone and Android, in English.
A privacy policy with real specifics. This deserves saying plainly: Pep's policy is the most concrete of any competitor we looked at. It names its backend host and the AWS region, describes TLS in transit and encryption at rest, and states that progress photos are encrypted on the device before upload with a key tied to your account password. Most apps in this category publish a page of adjectives. Pep published details.
Where the two genuinely diverge
Nothing versus something, when it comes to the cloud. Pep's model is local-first with an optional path off the device. Zuyu's model has no path off the device at all: its privacy policy states that health entries are not transmitted to Nb41 Labs and that the app does not use iCloud Drive, CloudKit or any other cloud service to store or synchronize entries. There is no sync tier to opt into, which is a limitation as much as a feature, Zuyu cannot put your record on a second device except through its own backup and restore, and Pep can.
What each app declares to Apple. Pep's App Store privacy label declares identifiers used to track you across other companies' apps and websites, and a device identifier used for the developer's own advertising or marketing. Notably, it declares no health, fitness or sensitive-data category at all, which is consistent with health data staying on the device, though the label does not prove that by itself. Pep's privacy policy does not name its advertising or analytics vendors.
Zuyu's label declares no tracking and nothing linked to your identity, and its policy states the app contains no advertising, tracking or attribution software. It does name two processors: Sentry for crash diagnostics and RevenueCat for subscriptions. We set that comparison out in more detail in Zuyu vs MeAgain.
So: both apps keep your health records on your phone by default. They differ in whether there is advertising-related identification happening alongside that.
Voice. Zuyu's check-ins can be spoken, and the app states that recognition runs on the device with no fallback to a network recognizer, that no audio file is saved, and that no recording or transcript leaves the phone. Pep does not state anything about voice input either way.
The appointment. Zuyu's paid tier exists for one deliverable: a clinician report covering the last 7 days, the last 30, and since your last visit, with things worth mentioning and questions for your clinician, exportable as PDF, printable and shareable. What you log is assembled into a document you can view, share and print, as it ships today in Plus, an organizational summary rather than a clinical interpretation. Pep's published materials do not describe a report or export function. That is not the same as saying it has none, we could not verify it either way, and if this matters to you it is worth asking Pep directly before choosing.

Pricing
Zuyu publishes its prices: free tier, then Plus at $9.99 per month or $59.99 per year. Raw export and backup and restore are in the free tier permanently.
Pep is free to download and states that core tracking is free, with a paid Pro tier. Pep does not publish a price on its own website. Its App Store listing has shown five in-app purchases sharing a single name, ranging from $9.99 to $39.99, plus two promotional items, with no billing periods displayed. As with most apps in this category, check the price in the store on the day you subscribe.
We are not going to claim either app is cheaper. With multiple concurrent price points on both sides of the comparison, that claim cannot be made honestly.
Which may fit you
Choose Pep if you want the most capability for nothing, particularly the medication-level chart and Apple Health sync in a free tier, or if you want food logging, body measurements and progress photos alongside your doses, or you need an iPad version, or you want it in a language other than English. If you are comfortable with an optional cloud backup and want multi-device sync, Pep offers it and Zuyu does not.
Choose Zuyu if you want no identity attached to the app at any point and no cloud option at all, if you want voice check-ins that are processed on the device, if you want raw export guaranteed free on every plan, or if the reason you track is the appointment and you want a report you can hand to a clinician.
Look closely at Pep if you are Android-first and want an app that has been in the store long enough to accumulate real review volume. Zuyu is new, and that is a fair thing to hold against it right now.
Questions people ask
- Does Pep require an account?
- No, not to track. Its privacy policy states data is stored on the device by default and that an account is needed only for cloud backup, with multi-device sync as a paid feature.
- If both store data locally, what is the actual difference?
- Two things. Pep offers an optional route off the device; Zuyu does not offer one at all. And Pep's App Store privacy label declares identifiers used for cross-app tracking and for the developer's advertising, while Zuyu's declares no tracking and no data linked to your identity.
- Which is better for logging meals?
- Pep, without qualification. It has a searchable food database, barcode scanning and AI photo scanning in its paid tier. Zuyu does not log food.
- Can I take a summary to my doctor from Pep?
- We could not verify a report or export feature in Pep's published materials, in either direction, so ask them. Zuyu includes a clinician report with PDF, print and share in Plus, and raw export of everything you have logged in the free tier.
- Does Pep work on iPad?
- Yes. Zuyu's App Store listing covers iPhone only.
Health disclaimer. Zuyu is an organizational and appointment-preparation tool. It is not a medical device. It does not diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any medical condition, it does not prescribe or recommend dose changes, and it does not replace professional judgment or medical advice. Always consult your healthcare provider before making any decision about your treatment. Zuyu is intended for adults 18 and over.
Pep information was taken from its live App Store and Google Play listings, its website and its published privacy policy and terms, most recently re-checked 22 September 2026. Pep and Shred Apps are trademarks of their owner and are not affiliated with Zuyu or Nb41 Labs LLC.
See how Zuyu and Shotsy compare for another app with a genuine free tier.
Try Zuyu
Free to start, no account, no card. Entries stay on your phone in an encrypted database, and raw export is included on every plan.
Essential is free. No account. United States. Adults 18 and over.
